NaNoWriMo… Yes or No?!

I don’t know if you guys know about NaNoWriMo.

NaNoWriMo, which stands for National Novel Writing Novel, is a project for people to write a 50,000 words novel in a month. It’s normally during the month of November and I’m planning on participate this year.

That is, depending on my University schedule.

I’ve registered myself on NaNoWriMo last year but didn’t managed to write anything. However, there are some crazy ideas for novels I want to explore and I might use the thrill and rush of NaNoWriMo to develop them.

I have at least three ideas but I can only pick one and write it down during NaNoWriMo. Each idea is different from the other and all of them require a little bit of re-search and patience.

The first idea is a YA Dystopian novel. I’m not going to explain the details because I’m still not sure about them but I can tell you that it’s about people with powers… superhuman powers. Or at least that’s what I’m thinking about. There might be a love triangle – which people normally hate – but that’s something to discuss.

The second idea is a YA Witch one. Still not sure about how the story is going to unfold but the main character will be a girl who is a witch. Probably a Red Witch (still need to figure out the whole witches’ thing…).

And the third and last idea is a YA Urban Fantasy one based on Imaginaerum by Nightwish. This was to be my previous idea for NaNoWriMo but then I moved and the idea slipped through my fingers. It’ll be about dreams and fantasy all mixed up with slices of contemporary issues.

So, you can see how hard D it’s going to be to me to pick up ONE idea and develop it. I was planning on simply laying out the whole idea and then plan it carefully, chapter by chapter.

But I don’t know which idea to choose!!! And that’s the reason I’m not sure if I should enter NaNoWriMo this year.

Help, please?!

Xoxo
Ner

7 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo… Yes or No?!

  1. You should write whichever one you think about most when you’re letting your mind wander. That’s the easiest way for me anyway to figure out which story idea I’m most passionate about. Sometimes (though not always) the subconscious knows what’s up.

    • Thank you for the advice. I will try to write down whatever comes to my mind… you knows, it might be something completely different from these three stories hehe xD

      XX Ner

  2. Go for it!

    This is my first year and I have been given a lot of good advice, the best piece is “just write”. You have over a month to plot your story and create your characters, so no pressure there. Then when November hits… just write.

    Add me on your NaNo buddy list, I would like to follow your progress and offer encouragement where I can.

  3. What about a YA Dystopian novel about a boy/young man with superhuman powers who falls in love with a Red Witch who is already married, and they communicate with each other through dreams? 🙂

    On a serious note, your Urban Fantasy sounds somewhat similar to what I’m going to do for NaNoWriMo. Mine will not be YA, though.

    Good luck with whatever you choose!

  4. Hey Ner! I’ve done NaNo for the last two years and never finished either of them… The thing is, the official NaNoWriMo is only once a year, so if you don’t do it this year, you’ll have to wait another 11 months!!! Other than NaNo, I write a lot, in various genres and run into the problem you’re having of coming up with so many cool ideas that you want to do all but can’t, but at the same time, can’t decide which is your favorite.

    Here’s my advise: pick the one that makes you super excited. Maybe the one that sticks out most to you, or if there’s a particular character you want to write about… If you need to, it’s okay to flesh out each story just a little to get an idea of what you’ll spend the 30 days on. (I don’t think you’re allowed to change stories… Of course, it’s an honor system, so the only one who’d know you changed is you.)

    Outlining is a new passion that I can’t not do now. It keeps me on track. This year I’ve got my chapter’s scenes pinned out (roughly, of course, because things may change as I write) so I’m not sitting at my computer for three hours not knowing where I’m going.

    As far as your ideas, I think all have great merit. Being that you’re going to YA, it’s kind of a thing to do a love triangle, even if it’s subtle. Most teens (especially girls) need that drama to draw them in. If your more interested in a boy audience, less romance and more action, but definitely put some sort of romance in it to get girls reading… (Now I’m not saying every girl like romance and every guy likes action, but general population and stereotypes suggest that is a safe bet.)

    Hope that helps! Good luck!

    • Thank you very much for the advice. It helps a lot, you have no idea how ^_^

      And thanks for stopping by 🙂

      XX Ner

  5. Well, one of the beauties of NaNo is that there’s no rule that says your 50,000 words have to have any relationship to one another. 🙂 I say write 5-10k of each idea, then finish your 50k with whichever one you like best. Yeah, all in the same document! You can just stick in Monty Python style transitions: “The characters of the previous story wish it to be known they’ve just been sacked. This NaNo has been completed in an entirely different style at great expense and at the last minute.”

    IMO, NaNo is just a starting point – you probably won’t finish a story in 50k in any case, so use it however it’s most useful.

Leave me a comment and I'll virtually hug you :)

